Resolute

Resolute: having or showing a lot of determination

I hate getting up early.

I love to swim.

I’ve learned quickly that I have to do what I hate to get to do what I love (no, this wasn’t the 1st time I’ve ever learned this, for the record).

On days off from work (& days I usually have schoolwork due) I get up early and hit the pool. It’s not my idea of a prefect pool day but if I stay under water long enough its close enough. It gets even better if I decide on a longer swim and everyone gets out of the water leaving me all my by lonesome (& it’ll be even better when everyone gives up on their new year’s resolutions).

One of the best sounds in the world is a completely empty pool and all you can hear is the sound of your breathing and your limbs going through the water.

When I decided to take up swimming again I adopted a motto similar to the US Postal Service.

“Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds”

I wasn’t going to let the early hour or the cold be the only reasons keeping me from the water; which is easier said than done when temperatures are below zero and the parking lot isn’t plowed well.

This motto (if you want to call it that) has worked out well, so far. There are days when I don’t want to get out of bed but I change my mind as soon as I hit the water.

I tell myself I’ll “go easy” if it takes me a while to get into the grove so early in the morning but that changes pretty quickly. Sounds great, right?

It is, unless you have lifelong habits that are pretty bad and pretty unbreakable without supervision.

I was that kid in PT who would lie about how many sets of an exercise they’d done or whether they’d done the home program (honestly I was the same way as an adult until very recently). However in non PT situations (like swimming lessons & such) I tried to get away with “going the extra mile” and denied any possible fatigue (sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t).

The 1st time I swam 1,500 meters after getting back into the pool I felt great, then I got home and could barely get out of the car never mind walk into the house.

See what I mean about benefiting for supervision?

I’m not going to nonchalantly say that it’s OK that this kind of thing happens, because it’s not, but I do have CP so fatigue happens, and to varying degrees. But I wasn’t going to let one incident hold me back because I’m scared of it happening again (it’s going to on occasion no matter what I do or don’t do).

However a good workout does sometimes create a few post workout problems. Like not being able to get up the stairs to hang my suit to dry so I’ve had to improvise.

Suit On Chair

Turns out the back bar of a wheelchair frame is multi-purpose 🙂

I may not progress enough to swim in Rio or Tokyo but I’m making myself happier through hard work.

Although seriously if someone wants to help me (or knows someone who could help me) swim in Rio or Tokyo I wouldn’t turn down the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

