Why Are You So Jumpy?

I always think writing 5 posts a week roughly related to the same topic is going to be easy but it never turns out that way. For one thing it’s hard to come up with new topics year after year then when you add in a growing career and course work, well let’s just say re-launching my blogging platform at the beginning of the year turned out to be one of the biggest blessings ever at a time like this.

I didn’t want to publish all previously published material this year but I do have the opportunity to do it as often as called for so when I saw the following tweet from Ellie at CP Teens UK I decided it would be a good time to re-publish one of my most popular posts from last year.

Most people with CP have experience with startle reflex to some degree.

It’s also called moro reflex, or so I’ve heard anyway.

I happen to be one of them. It’s one of the most obnoxious aspects of having CP, in my opinion. I’m not nearly as high strung as people think I am (thanks to that startle reflex).

I’m not an expert in the startle reflex; in fact until recently I thought it was just some kind of weird thing I just had to deal with.

Obvious things can set off a startle reflex, loud noises etc., but not so obvious things can “startle” you as well, like the tone of someone’s voice. There are people that I like being around but I hate when they start talking because I know it’s going to make me jumpy.

And all those lovely notification noises smart phones make? Its bad news bears for my nervous system, plus it’s annoying (it is a small comfort to know that “typical” people, like pilots on airplanes, are annoyed by that as well).

I wish I could tell you I have proven remedies to calm down or stop a startle reflex but I don’t.

There were a few years where placing my feet behind the front legs of a chair helped but not anymore.  If I tried to do that now I’d probably flip myself out of the chair. I also can’t sit in the same position for as long as I use to without getting uncomfortable.

The unexpected plus side of not being able to sit still for long is that I have to shift my weight frequently. This tends to hide some of the jumpiness from people, but not always. Those few “well trained” friends and family can always tell, but they don’t bother bringing it up every single time.

My startle reflex never really goes away but there are plenty of things that I know will make it worse.

I think that’s what bothers me the most, knowing what will make it worse but not being able to do anything about it.

Pain also makes my startle reflex worse; another reason why passing a kidney stone isn’t fun (for example). In fact if the pain level gets high enough the heightened startle reflex lingers after the pain goes away.

And PMS isn’t just PMS either, there’s what I’ve come to call “pre-PMS”, THEN PMS.

The fun never ends.

I know you’re probably thinking why is she even talking about this if she’s got no insights?

Because sometimes I need to hop down from my self-appointed soapbox and “just” say that I can relate to what some of you are dealing with and that I don’t have all the answers.

*A similar version of this post was published previously on March 12, 2014

 

5 thoughts on “Why Are You So Jumpy?

  1. Pingback: March 31, 2015- March = Cerebral Palsy Awareness Month + Review | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Thank you! Finally somebody brings up the fact that the startle gets worse with PMS. Mine becomes a nightmare as soon as my “monthly gift ” arrives. It’s like all of the CP is in my pelvis. 😦 LOL.

    Like

    • A lot of doctors who treat a lot of teenagers and adults with CP recognize that PMS & Menstruation causes CP issues, like startle reflex, spasms, muscle tightness, etc. So if you bring it up to one of your doctors (or a nurse) they’ll probably be willing to help you with management.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Practice Makes Almost Perfect | Most Usually Unusual

  4. Pingback: Things That Go Jump In The Night | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

