Self-Driving Cars! Problem Solved?

Now that I’ve told you that I don’t drive, and why, I figured it was as good of a time as any to dive into another driving related topic within the disability community.

Self-driving cars.

From what I’ve read it seems like most people are all for it when the technology becomes available. But someone please feel free to chime in and tell me differently, in fact I would be more than happy to find a group of people who aren’t all for self-driving cars.

I’m one of them.

It would make my life easier to be able to get myself wherever I wanted whenever I wanted, but I doubt it’s that easy; and even if it is, it shouldn’t be.

I’m not for self-driving cars for much of the same reason why I’m against auto-piloted airplanes.

And I may be listening to a little too much Airline Pilot Guy, when time permits, that has further influenced my stance on the auto-piloting of forms of transportation.

Think about it. Would you want to be on an aircraft with no pilot and/or first officer at the controls? Would you want to be on an aircraft with a pilot and/or first officer didn’t know what to do if there was a glitch or a system totally failed?

I wouldn’t.

Nor would I want to be responsible for a car that drove itself if something ever happened. I don’t even want anyone else on the road like that either for that matter.

What would happen if the computer driving your car malfunctioned in some way? You should still know how and be capable of driving a car (just like how pilots should be able to fly an aircraft without assistance).

Technology is great. But we shouldn’t expect it to do everything it possibly can for us. It may solve a problem but it creates others in the process, considering how quickly technology is developing without adequate safeguards from the get go.

Self-driving cars would solve the “driving issues” for the disabled and it would create a whole other host of issues, in my opinion.

I’m not happy that ableism veiled behind acceptable bureaucracy is keeping me from being able to get behind the wheel and not need to depend on others, but I’m not going to go all in on one of the few things that shows actual promise, because it’s just too good to be true on the surface.

One thought on “Self-Driving Cars! Problem Solved?

  1. Pingback: March 31, 2015- March = Cerebral Palsy Awareness Month + Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

