The One Moment

One common question people tend to ask is, “Are there ever moments when you don’t feel like you have CP?”

It’s always hard for me to find an answer. I was diagnosed with CP around my 1st birthday; for all intents and purposes I was born with it. Therefore I can’t really tell you if there’s even one moment when I don’t feel like I have CP, never mind any moments. I have nothing personally, like a before and after situation, to compare.

One of the biggest reasons I love swimming, as an adult anyway, is because it’s one of the few times when I feel like my CP is a factor (or as much of a factor).

The same probably goes for growing up as well. I just didn’t realize it, or maybe I couldn’t articulate it. Who knows?

And let’s be real for a moment, it’s the one thing that I got any validation about while I was bullied; although even that wasn’t all sunshine either.

I get in and I swim.

I don’t have to tell myself “put plant your right heel on the floor” or “unclench your right hand” whenever I’m nervous, or on uneven ground, or tired, or just because it’s a Saturday.

It’s more natural than walking, even when it isn’t the prettiest most textbook stroke in the pool. I don’t have to “tell myself” anything other than maybe “left, right, left, right” when I can feel myself drift, or “listing” for the boating folk.

More people on earth can walk than can swim, so that counts for something.

blue

*A similar version of this post was written on September 27, 2014

6 thoughts on “The One Moment

  1. Pingback: March 31, 2015- March = Cerebral Palsy Awareness Month + Review | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: A Creature Of Habit | Most Usually Unusual

  3. Pingback: Proudest Accomplishments | Most Usually Unusual

  4. Pingback: The Difference Between Want & Can | Most Usually Unusual

  5. Pingback: Becoming A Road Map | Most Usually Unusual

  6. Pingback: The Week In Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

