A Creature Of Habit

I have all kinds of habits. Some of my own making and some not; some are good and some are not.

I have a few routines that I try to follow but those aren’t every day occurrences. I tend to slip into routines during routine times, like travel, vacations, finals week, that kind of stuff.

I’ve been going to the gym 2-3 times a week, for the most part, for the last few years. Then late last summer I transitioned from going to the gym with a trainer to going to Physical Therapy with a PT 2-3 times a week, thanks in part to a mystery muscle strain that just won’t heal.

I do miss going to the gym but not as much as I thought I would. I think it helps that I see a PT who enjoys sports and he used to work with one of my exercise physiologists.

I also try to go swimming once a week. Honestly I wish I could do more of that most of all since it’s something I’ve always enjoyed and it’s one of the few times in my week that I’m in absolutely no pain.

I never thought I’d be one of those people who would enjoy exercising, never mind miss it when I can’t fit it in my schedule, but I’ve become one without noticing.

I used to have a bad habit of lying to anyone and everyone who asked if I was doing a home exercise program, my answer was always, “Of course I’m doing my home program,” and I wasn’t, of course. I’m getting better at breaking the bad habit and establishing a good one to replace it.

There aren’t many health related habits that I wish I could break that are solely related to my health. However if I could have better time management skills than that would have an effect on my health allowing me more time to take care of myself when necessary.

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

One thought on “A Creature Of Habit

  1. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

