Proudest Accomplishments

Today I’m supposed to share my proudest accomplishments in the last 5 years.

I have to say my biggest accomplishment in the last 5 years was having major orthopedic surgery after having so many roadblocks put in my way. I’m almost past the 5 year mark, but it’s still worth noting. Since so many of my accomplishments in the last 5 years are a direct result of that decision and the fact that I stuck to my guns.

Learning to walk again is another big accomplishment. Most people, especially those who obviously don’t know me well, still tell me that it’s a miracle that I learned to walk again. I had to spend about 3 months off my feet to heal but that comes with given setbacks, even for an able-bodied person. So I had to learn to walk again, which isn’t easy when you have CP and never had the best gait pattern to begin with. It wasn’t the first time I’ve had to do it either, but this time took the longest and involved a lot of hard work.

Deciding to start my own business also has to be on the list. It’s been one of those unexpected blessings that came out of the relationships that I forged during the recovery and rehab process. I admit it sounds weird but it’s just how things happened.

Another notable accomplishment is definitely applying, getting accepted, and now attending graduate school. I pretty much lost interest in school after the fourth grade and counted down the days until I never had to take another exam or class ever again. So the fact that I even considered going back to school seemed pretty miraculous. School can still be a pain in the ass, but for the most part I’m enjoying myself. It’s the needing to balance building my own business, going to school, having a job, and having anything close to a social life that’s the real pain.

I’m happy (although not really proud) that I returned to the pool and took up swimming again. It’s something I’ve wanted to do ever since I gave up swimming lessons all those years ago. But things kept coming up and a little part of me was afraid to get back in the pool. I didn’t want it to be different than I remembered it being.

I’m happy that I haven’t always accepted what I’ve been given. Instead I’ve tried to see it (whatever it is) as a starting point for what could be possible. I’m proud that I’ve tapped into a part of my personality that some people close to me saw that I never understood (but now I’m starting to, I think).

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

3 thoughts on “Proudest Accomplishments

  1. Pingback: Challenge Of The Day | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: “I Feel Best When….” | Most Usually Unusual

  3. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

