Keeping Track Of Memories

How do I go about remembering things that have happened in my life? It really depends.

I have a journal that I write stuff in, that sometimes doubles as the closest thing I have to a scrapbook. I’d like to tell you that I have scrapbooks as well but I don’t have the time for that, and more importantly I don’t have the patience (even if I had the time).

I have things that remind me of different periods of my life. A lot of them are things that I kept “until” a certain time period has passed, or “just in case,” and I’ve never gotten rid of them.

Like a pair of underwear that I wore the first day I put on real clothes after my last surgery.

(You’re welcome for that tidbit)

Or the tricycle I rode around the hospital on after my SDR.

(I won’t even let anyone borrow it)

Then there’s another category of things I’ve kept.

The “things I keep, but want to get rid of, but don’t in case I need them again,” category.

Those things would be things like, crutches, night braces, wheelchair parts, thera-bands, AFOs that still fit, copies of used prescriptions, restrictions notes, a transfer board, bed pads, even a bedpan.

Eventually though, that last category gets smaller and smaller in terms of items. Usually during the cleaning phases that involve playing “what’s in this box anyway,” however anything that falls under the category of durable medical equipment that required a prescription and/or insurance approval stays. I will never wait MONTHS for a pair of crutches ever again. Ever.

So that’s how I keep track of my memories. It’s unusual but that’s just how my life works.

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

One thought on “Keeping Track Of Memories

  1. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

