Stress? What Stress?

Did you happen to read my last post about how possibly busy I’m going to be soon? Now you want me to talk about how I manage stress?

Seriously?

Honestly I’m not that great at escaping stress on my own. It usually takes someone else to pull me off the metaphorical ceiling.

I am not good at managing stress. In fact I think I have at least one nervous breakdown before getting anything important done, like large papers or presentations.

I try to take at least one day a week “off” to give myself some rest time, so I don’t have a complete meltdown every week. But that doesn’t mean that that method works all of the time.

I’m incredibly lucky to have friends and family who will help me de-stress whenever and wherever necessary.

Even if that means me showing up on their doorstop on a semi-whim partly seeking to take shelter in their guest rooms (aka my 2nd home) hoping to never be heard from again.

Seriously I’ve gotten some of the best sleep in those beds, including but not limited to a 12+ hour night’s sleep before or after a 3 hour nap during the day. Yes, my body needs a lot of sleep at times & I love to indulge in it whenever possible.

That being said it should come as no surprise that one of my favorite (and best) ways to de-stress is to spend time with family and friends, especially since that’s one of the first things to be dropped when I get busy.

I especially like going on road trips with people I really like. I don’t enjoy being trapped in a car for a long time, and I have little to no interest in traveling across North Carolina ever again, but it’s usually a good time solely for the company, the conversation, and of course, the music.

I’m not the best when it comes to stress management (or avoiding stress at all) so I love when I can unload my stress for a while.

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

One thought on “Stress? What Stress?

  1. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

