Hobbies In The Lobby

Today’s topic is hobbies.

However I don’t have much going on these days in terms of hobbies so I had to hop in the way-back machine and see if I’ve ever written about any hobbies before. Thank God I have, or else this would’ve been a fairly short post.

I don’t have as much time to indulge in hobbies these days however I have had more than my share thanks to lots of “down time” recovering from surgeries.

Typically I go for anything that I can do with my hands if I’m antsy. My room is littered with projects in various stages of progress. Every once and a while I’d pick of a sport like horseback riding and swimming, of course. The garage has been pretty well cleaned out of the rest of my sports related activities (thank God).

A sure sign of post-op boredom for me wanting to wonder around the craft store and see what I can come up with. It usually ends up me spending at least $30 on stuff I wouldn’t have purchased it I wasn’t under the influence of the deep recesses of my own head (and the occasional painkiller).

It drives my family nuts, but they put up with the lunacy for a little while. It drives me nuts when it comes time to clean it all up after realizing that it won’t just disappear.

I was an amateur photographer for a while. I was one of the founding members of the photography club in middle school, because being the proverbial new kid and band geek just wasn’t enough.

I got into painting in high school. I was one of a handful of students that were featured in the school’s first student organized art show. Why yes, I was one of the student organizers too.

I was into collages and arts and craft kit type things for a little, but that quickly came and went. There’s actually none of that hanging around (a pretty definitive sign that none of that has lingered).

I’d love to sit down with a non-school related book and read but I’m afraid that that would quickly turn into nap time, not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Any free time I have for hobbies gets delegated to a movie, backlog of TV shows, or letter writing. It’s not very sophisticated or exciting but it’s me.

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

*A similar version of this post was written on April 22, 2014

One thought on “Hobbies In The Lobby

  1. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

