The Reviews Are In

Today is supposed to be a review of my favorite health related product. But there’s the thing, I’m awful at giving reviews. There’s no one good product for people with CP, and if there are they haven’t worked for me so I can’t give them a good review.

My review isn’t going to be CP specific and barely healthcare related but it is a product I love so I’m sharing it.

When my mysterious muscle strain was first diagnosed I was sent to my orthotists’ office to see if there were any bracing options available to take the load of my quads to allow the strained one to heal.

They had good news and bad news. Good news, there were a few options. Bad news, none of them would work well for me.

One of the orotists suggested that I go swimming because that would work better than any bracing so I did. It hasn’t helped my quad much but I reconnected with my love of swimming, big time.

I was making progress pretty quickly but not enough for my taste (of course) so I looked into training aids. I’d been pretty interested in a pull buoy but I had never used one before and had never seen someone use one either.

So I went to the internet

It’s pretty much what I was looking for. Now I know what you’re thinking, how are you supposed to strengthen your legs if you aren’t using them?

My legs aren’t going to be able to propel me at the same rate as my arms over night and I do use my arms more than my legs for just about everything, not just swimming, so it’s important that I have good form and technique for what I can and do use.

A pull buoy allows this to happen.

Except I don’t use a typical pull buoy.

I found a pull buoy with a strap attached so my legs don’t go floating everywhere or squeezing my legs together too tightly.

It’s a bigger and costs more than the typical pull buoy and it can be a pain to pack but it’s really helped my swimming. I can’t believe I went so long without using one.

I’m taking part in The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge this month (also known as #HAWMC).

One thought on “The Reviews Are In

  1. Pingback: HAWMC Recap | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

