Grad School: The 1st Year

I’ve been a grad student for a full year. It’s a cliché to say it’s been a blur of a rollercoaster ride but it’s the truth. I remember (although barely) being sent a blank tracking sheet and being asked to fill it out and email it to my advisor prior to discussing the upcoming year. I had seen it before, prior to deciding which degree program to apply to, but this time was different.

This time was “how am I ever going to take this many classes?”

A year later grades are being added and the next year of classes are being filled in.

It isn’t looking like I’ll be in school forever anymore (although graduation is still far off).

I figured I’d average one class a semester so I wouldn’t get overloaded but once reality set in that plan changed, numerous times in fact.

So I began taking 2 classes a semester. Not a big deal really. I was surprised by how natural it felt to coordinate so many schedules each dictated by another person.

I had a handle on the year until this past semester, and then things went nuts, like giant coconut sized nuts. I thought about dropping my classes but I was too far in to quit now, and dropping classes would just mean having to take them again later on.

So I sucked it up, sometimes barely, and kept going. I put down the movies and fun social events and picked up the books more. School became my escape, although I wouldn’t say I buried myself in my books (but that’s another story really).

I watched my “need to read” pile shrink.

I did in fact read the entire pile except 1 book (and the encyclopedia, I’m not that nerdy). However that’s just the book pile the articles and ebooks is another story.

Last week I turned to the pile to pick up the next book I needed to read and realized there wasn’t one there. I was relieved, and a bit lost to be honest.

I started to clean up the pile that’s accumulated in the last few months, except it’s not just from this semester. It’s from the last school year, which started in September.

It’s been a long year.

It’s time to clean, organize, and put away.

And of course gear up for the next year.

The battery in my mouse is dying, right on schedule.

If I had any skill at all I’d probably make my friends and family a cake that looks something like this because I more than willingly admit that I haven’t been the easiest person to be associated with:

Oh yeah and I started posting on Instagr@m after creating an account who knows how long ago.

2 thoughts on “Grad School: The 1st Year

  1. Pingback: Grad School: The First Semester | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: Grad School: The First Summer | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

