The Catholic Thing

“You and I are very much alike, except for the Catholic thing, and the Cerebral Palsy thing.”

You know how you sometimes wonder if some people bother to think before they speak? I wonder the same thing about written comments too (much like the one above).

It’s one of those “um, thank you?” moments, for sure.

You all have those, right? Just me?

I don’t really consider myself to be a Catholic blogger. I am Catholic and I am working towards a master’s degree from a Catholic institution (which also functions as a seminary), so lines are bound to get blurred on occasion.

But if you come to this blog for a greater understanding of teachings of the Catholic Church you’ve come to the wrong place. Go see Greg & Jennifer or Mac & Katherine for that. Actually even if I were a highly faithful Catholic you’d still have better luck with Greg, Jennifer, Mac, Katherine, or any other host of people on the planet.

I don’t consider myself to be a CP blogger either but I think that’s a better fit, if I had to pick one, since that’s how people first started to find me and everything.

Regardless I dislike when someone who doesn’t know me calls an important part of me “a thing.” Fiends who can tell I’m going through a phase before I’ve realized it’s a phase or “a thing” another thing.

“The Catholic Thing” isn’t a thing to me. It’s my life, at least now it is. That wasn’t always the case but now it is, and “carpe diem,” as they say.

Call me oversensitive but I get offended when anyone calls any faith tradition a thing. It’s probably not meant to be an insult, but usually comes off as one. Like saying someone is too pretty to be disabled. Sounds like a compliment, but it isn’t.

Speaking of Catholicism directly, I know it’s an easy target. However that doesn’t mean you need to hit it, or try to. I also know there’s still a level of shame associated with being Catholic for some people. I can’t say I blame them, and sometimes I am one of them.

It’s not something I’m ashamed of however it’s much disclosure of disability to me. The approach effects how I craft my answer. If I can tell you’re going to bash me for it, or craft an insult wrapped in a shallow compliment then I have no patience.

Diplomacy is not my spiritual gift, and no, I don’t care to “work on that.”

I am not the one to come to for calm theological discussion if you’re not going to give me the same curtesy. If you’re looking for that type of discussion go to someone else.

It is possible to support and belong to a belief system and not completely agree with the human organization that handles the business end of things; I know because I’ve done it most of my adult life.

If you think we’re alike in some way, don’t start out by pointing out the differences. You’re making a point. But is it really the point you want to make?

*A similar version of this post was written on October 8, 2014

One thought on “The Catholic Thing

  1. example of some comments I’ve heard
    “You’re sitting down on the job!” (Harharhar)
    “But you LOOK fine”
    “You’re so normal.”
    “Your lucky to be able to sit down” – I guess it used to be common place to not let people with mobility impairments sit and do their job, so I guess I am lucky, but the walker is mine, so they didn’t really ‘let” me do anything it was more like “I used to do this standing but I really can’t anymore so look, brought my own chair!” Even worse when this comes from a person without a disability. (If I know for a fact that this person does not have a disability, which usually it’s a co-worker that says it that does not have a disability, because the few that do that I work with I like to think have an understanding)

    Like

Leave a Reply

