Tales From A Late Adopter

You know how some people claim to be early adopters?

Well, I’m not, except for maybe blogging, and F@cebook, and neither of those were totally my decision.

My 1st computer was over 7 years old when I decided to get a new one. It was supposed to have Wi-Fi capability when I bought it but I don’t think it really did.

I’m still on my 1st smart phone, which needed to be replaced years ago, and didn’t even know what a podcast was until after attending my 1st CNMC (an ignorance I have since more than made up for). Oh and I still try and build websites in HTML whenever I can get away with it.

And it takes me roughly and hour to make a minute long video that I can just barely stomach watching.

My 2nd computer had Wi-Fi capability but I didn’t actually get Wi-Fi for a few years afterwards, and even then I didn’t use it unless I was in a Wi-Fi only location.

If I’m anything, I’m a reluctant adopter.

So when my computer, my 2nd one, died a quick, yet horrible, death a few weeks ago I just about when bat crap crazy. (1) I’ve never had a computer completely die on me before and (2) I had class starting in a matter of weeks, I had to make a decision, and fast.

It’s really really rare that I wish I was in a relationship but this was one of those times, if for no other reason than I’d have someone capable of making such decisions for me and then getting me settled without causing me stress.

Thankfully I had everything backed up, which I’ve never done before but won’t ever skip that step again, so that was one thing I didn’t have to worry about. But in my rush I didn’t do my usual vetting process.

And while I was waiting for news on my computer I went so over my data limit on my phone that I couldn’t even add any additional data to my plan. I had a big “no” symbol in my notifications for days.

I hadn’t kept up on the software upgrades on my tablet for so long that it took days to get that taken care of before I could even use it effectively.

My new computer didn’t come with office already installed. I realized that in the store but knew I had two product codes at home, so why bother. Well the joke’s on me because now that I need one I can’t find either one of them anywhere.

It also doesn’t have a disk (or rather CD) drive so when I went to look for one I got a little freaked out. How would I install anything?

Also the power button is on the side instead of near the keyboard. Once I found it I wondered what team of people thought it would be a great idea to put a power button so easily accessible to anything. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve turned it off without meaning to.

Although I’m a reluctant adopter I hesitate to call in any outside help for anything. I don’t read directions and although I typically purchase additional tech support I rarely, if ever, call them.

I made more calls to set up this computer than I have ever. It makes me feel defeated in a way, because I hate asking for help, especially when it’s something many people easily master. But stress and a tight timeline won out, at least this time.

One of the biggest reasons why I am a late adopter is because I don’t like having to work out the little bugs that come with the 1st generation of so many products. So I usually wait and keep my ear to the ground before making any major purchase.

Until my motherboard dies, then it’s time to run to the store before having a nervous breakdown, because who can live without a computer these days?

I went with the “upgraded” version of what use to be very much the other half of my brain, which is lying closed up in an old dusty box like a technological casket, because I didn’t have the time, or the patience to figure out something new (and I still spend hours on the phone with various tech support people).

Am I happy with it? No. But it probably has more to do with a rushed purchase rather than an unsatisfactory product.

Now my next task? To upgrade my phone and maybe use the gm@il account I created for myself a few months ago.

I need to do something before all of my devices are on the verge of another technological breakdown, and maybe do a better job at keeping up with the rest of the planet.

Leave a Reply

