What Is Cerebral Palsy Anyway?

For the past couple of years I’ve devoted my writing efforts during March to Cerebral Palsy.

Why?

Because despite being the most common disability among children very few people know what Cerebral Palsy is. Now for a medical condition that was first studied in the 1860s, (but probably first identified during the time of the Ancient Greeks) the fact that the everyday person probably doesn’t realize that they’ve probably at least seen 1 person with CP during their lifetime is, well, I don’t know what to call it.

Sad?

Disappointing?

Shocking?

Not surprising at all?

All of those, and then some more.

There are people who have heard of it but have more misconceptions than actual facts about what it is and what it isn’t.

And honestly, I wonder if it would be better if some of those people knew nothing at all, because their misconceptions run so deep and are so flawed that it might be better if they (or rather we) started from square one.

So here I go again.

What is Cerebral Palsy (CP) Anyway?

It’ll get into the technical aspects soon but I wanted to start with something simple for today:

keep-calm-its-only-cerebral-palsy

After I get into the basics I’ll get more personal, probably, because I can’t speak for everyone with CP; for two reasons (1) Cerebral Palsy effects each person that has it differently. No two cased of CP are exactly alike. (2) Also I don’t want to pretend I know everything so I can’t in good conscious speak for everyone who has CP. That just wouldn’t be fair to the CP community or everyone wanting to know about CP.

In previous years I’ve taken questions from readers and it’s been overwhelmingly positive so I’ll continue with that tradition, because if it ain’t broke….

If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment or fill out the contact form. You can even send me an email if that works better for you.

Until then…….

BhqYV8QCYAAt8k1

 

5 thoughts on “What Is Cerebral Palsy Anyway?

  1. Pingback: Practice Makes Almost Perfect | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: No Hope For A Cure | Most Usually Unusual

  3. Pingback: The Difference Between Want & Can | Most Usually Unusual

  4. Pingback: What Is Cerebral Palsy Anyway: A Review | Most Usually Unusual

  5. Pingback: Why I: Don’t Feel Obliged To Advocate | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

