Let’s Get Spiritual

“Are you mad that God did this to you?”

 I don’t get asked this question a lot, but enough to make me consider addressing it. It’s a loaded question, so I’ll try to keep it as “light” as possible.

My simple answer is, no, I am not mad God did this to me.

However, in the interest of full disclosure there were a few years in my life that I did not believe in God’s existence & was very bitter about pretty much everything. But that’s a story for another day, if anyone is in fact interested in that period of my life.

I am not mad at God for doing this to me.

God may have intended me to have CP but He himself has nothing to do with the after effects from it, like how people react to it. I am not mad at God for other people’s shortcomings. It’s not His fault some disabilities are chosen, because if you’re curious I consider idiocy a disability.

I firmly believe that everyone is created for a reason, for a purpose, and the only way we can find out our reason for being is to be who we were created to be. So if I were to be mad at God for “doing this to me” then I’d really be doing a disservice to myself more than anything else.

To address the “did this to you,” portion of the question, I always want to ask just what do they think was “done to me”? Maybe if they could answer that I’d be able to answer indefinitely if I am in fact mad at God, but I’m pretty sure the answer would still be “No”.

If anything gets me mad its how people treat each other, especially those who use their religious background as a reason to do so.

Jesus isn’t here to let us know just what He’d in fact do, but I’m pretty sure going around being hurtful to others isn’t exactly what He’s have in mind. So let’s just keep the predictions to a minimum and treat people with some decency.

I’m not the most religious person on the planet but I do believe that God doesn’t make mistakes. Therefore, those with special needs & disabilities aren’t mistakes. Anyone who believes differently is mistaken in their thinking; let’s not blame God for faults in someone’s free will either.

I am not mad at God for doing this to me. In fact, some days I would say I’d go as far as to thank God for the life I’ve been given. As often as I’ve had ups and downs in my life, CP related or not, I can’t imagine my life turning out any other way. For that alone I cannot be mad.

I think a card a friend sent me says it best:

smc

*A similar version of this post first appeared on an old blog on March 20, 2012

3 thoughts on “Let’s Get Spiritual

  1. Pingback: Of Malpractice & Men | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: No Hope For A Cure | Most Usually Unusual

  3. Pingback: What Is Cerebral Palsy Anyway: A Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

