Of Malpractice & Men

The fact that I have Cerebral Palsy doesn’t come up often, if at all, around family and friends. So I wasn’t expecting to hear someone ask my mother if she ever considered suing the doctor or the hospital after my diagnosis.

I can honestly tell you I had no idea what the answer would be because I’ve never asked, I’ve never heard anyone ask before this, nor had either of my parents volunteered this information in any manner.

When I first “outed” myself as a someone with Cerebral Palsy on a blog something happened, I started to get ad inquires. I had been a blogger for years at that point so you’d think at least one before divulging such information, but it wasn’t so.

Once I became a “blogger with Cerebral Palsy” I was getting offers fairly frequently. It was something I hoped would happen in my blogging career but once it started happening it wasn’t what I thought (doesn’t it always go that way).

All of the offers I was getting were from lawyers specializing in medical malpractice, especially for parents of children diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy. I had to make the conscious decision right then, although it wasn’t very hard, of what kind of blogger I was going to be now that I’ve told people more about myself.

I think it’s pretty clear that although I can be fairly honest about life with Cerebral Palsy I didn’t want to focus on who was at fault (whether it be human or divine) for my having CP; having ads for malpractice would contradict that.

Now I’m not saying that there aren’t instances where the actions of others don’t contribute to someone’s disability, and when that is the case justice should be served.

But in my case I can’t (or maybe don’t is a better word) blame anyone for my CP, except maybe myself for not having the best timing.

So when one of my parents was asked if they ever considered suing I was surprised enough that the question came up. And honestly I wasn’t sure if I wanted to know the answer.

I’m not going to divulge the answer here because it’s not that important, but let’s just say I’m far from living off of any trust of any sort.

One of the things I wanted to address but couldn’t find the right words, until now, was the idea that someone is always at fault for the cause of someone else’s Cerebral Palsy and the pressure to go after those responsible.

I don’t blame people for it, well maybe I blame the frequency of malpractice commercials and that malpractice sites are one of the first things that pops up when you search “Cerebral Palsy” on the internet.

I wish people could see what living with CP is really like before getting barraged by people who want you to focus on pain and suffering, just so they can make money off of it. Yes, they may want to help you but bottom line, you’re paying them so there is an additional motive for them.

While I don’t blame people for it, what I want people to know is that you don’t have to buy into the blame game if you don’t feel the need to, or more importantly if you don’t want to. There’s so much more to living with Cerebral Palsy than looking for someone to blame for it.

It’s a waste of time and energy, in my humble opinion.

Living with Cerebral Palsy shouldn’t be overshadowed by blame, shame, or guilt. So don’t allow society to pressure you into feeling any of that stuff. There are more important things to focus on, like living a full and happy life.

2 thoughts on “Of Malpractice & Men

  1. Pingback: What Is Cerebral Palsy Anyway: A Review | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: BADD ’16: Ablesim In Social Media | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

