Why I: Am An “In-Between-er”

I’m always looking for topics to relate to or give my two cents on. I’d like to say it’s because I like to keep up with what’s going on in the disability community, particularly for those living with CP obviously, but the truth is sometimes it’s just hard to think.

There’s one video in particular that I tend to think of when I’m asked about my physical abilities.

I, like Amanda, am very much an in-between-er.

If you ask anyone who has been involved in my medical care I’m pretty sure they’d agree as well, at least medically. It’s been a case of “this or that” ever since I can remember.

If I stopped to think about it my day to day life hasn’t been much different either.

-I’ve been labeled “too disabled” and “not disabled enough” in the same conversation.

-I may have hiked one of the most famous mountains in the Northwest but I can’t get through the grocery store without some form of pain, and let’s just not talk about discount stores.

-I can navigate some of the biggest airports in the world but I can’t drive myself down the street.

-I can swim faster than most people I know but they can walk faster than I can run, ever.

-I’ve taken care of groups of children with great success on my own, yet I’ve had people doubt my ability to care for a child of my own (and I don’t even have a child, at least not yet).

-People assume I live off the government, which is wrong, I don’t receive any government assistance and I am currently debt free.

-I have a learning disability but I was often in the top percentage of my classmates in my academic career.

-I can cook dinner for a group of friends but I can’t carry a cup with something in it without causing a spill, usually.

-I can lift (and/or press) more than my body weight, but if someone bumps in to me, even slightly, I’ll often stumble.

-I’m seen as young and capable in the everyday workplace but too old and risky in medicine.

-As much as I’ve accomplished I’m constantly having to prove myself.

-I have been judged for being too disabled & not disabled enough in the same conversation.

-I’ve had once in a lifetime experiences that not everyone gets to experience yet I struggle to complete tasks people do every day.

-Just because I can or can’t do something today doesn’t mean I’ll be able to do it tomorrow and vice versa.

*A similar version of this post first appeared on an old blog on September 19, 2013

One thought on “Why I: Am An “In-Between-er”

  1. Pingback: The Thing About Independence | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

