Boats, Buses, and Piggybacks

I’ve always been on boats & around boats so I don’t really consider them a mode of travel, at least not exclusively. I’ve “lived at sea” before, however I doubt if it’ll be in my future. You’d be surprised to know how many people actually live on their boat. It isn’t for everybody, but it usually doesn’t come down to adaptations due to disability.

I know what you’re thinking. A common trait of CP is having issues with balance & coordination. How could you have managed on a boat?

Pretty easily actually, for one thing no one told me that it should be more difficult for me. Another reason is it’s good boating to hold onto something, or be close enough to something you can grab, at all times. If I ever got hurt while cruising it was usually my bad judgment or from someone speeding through a “no wake” zone, and that happens to everyone equally. I will tell you though I wasn’t too fond of safe boating practices, but it comes down to personal freedoms.

Funny story, the one time I remember the Coast Guard “pulling us over” I was actually wearing a life-jacket & it actually fit correctly. It still makes me laugh & I was around 5.

I’m not the biggest fan of long bus trips, thanks to hearing enough horrific stories. But when it comes to getting from point A to point B, like getting to work, I have little to complain about. I just wish it was a more popular mode of transportation to make it more convenient & safer.

I use to take the bus to work every single day & to get a lot of places to cut down on the walking. Remember when it was uncool to have a bus pass? I was uncool & totally O.K. with it. It’s actually really nice if you live somewhere with a quality transit system, including frequent stops so when you go up another stop for something to eat you can still walk home.

Cabs. Oh cabs. I know some people swear by them, but if I can get somewhere without one I’ll do it. I guess I’ve used too many DC cabs and not enough NYC cabs. The fare rates are totally different, if you didn’t know before now you do. Bring a lot of cash & prepare to be shocked.

For those that qualify there’s also the adventure of Paratransit. I used a service when my gym schedule wasn’t really consistent. Let me just say this, it has its issues on top of not being available when you need them. But if you understand what you’re getting into & you’re somewhat flexible it is a nice option for you. The biggest problem I’ve had were issues with the staff themselves, not the actual service. Overall it’s a nice thing to have in your back packet, just in case.

As for the piggyback rides, these work two ways, for fun & function. On longer treks with a group I usually end up catching a ride. After a while I just can’t keep up so the best solution is to hop on & hang on tight. If I’m the only one ready for a break it’s often better to get a ride than hold everyone else up.

However, everyone has their limits, after I announced my surgery plans to friends, I got, “You better tell that doctor to do his job, after this there are no more free piggyback rides.” I know he’s mostly kidding, but it’s something to be aware of.

I’ve also gotten a surprising number of places by bicycle. However, I don’t recommend riding on someone’s handlebars for more than a few blocks. It’s fun, but somewhat dangerous.

Norwegian push sleds are also fun, but mostly for fun, even if they have been/are used for transportation in some parts.

Did I miss something? I’m not sure I did.

*A similar version of this post first appeared on an old blog on March 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

