How does my writing process work?

There’s no process in my process, especially if I’m left to my own devices. Seriously.

As intense as HAWMC is it’s a lot easier for me in a sense since there are prompts for each day. I try to have a plan when I know I’m going to be posting more than usual. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes I make a plan and change it last minute.

I tend to go through “spurts” of blogging. I can write multiple posts at a time without any trouble and then I can go weeks looking for ideas or struggling to write one post. Let’s just say I thank whoever invented the ability to schedule posts on a regular basis.

I like when readers (or other people) have questions for me the most. They’re not always easy to answer as you would think, not because I don’t know the answer. It’s more of how to explain it. Sometimes my internal thought process is so automatic I don’t see how others may have questions. I like being able to break things down for people (and myself). Plus, answering questions usually gets me thinking more. More thinking means more posts. Win-win.

One of the best things about relaunching a blog (and pulling down another one) is the ability to not only look back on previous material but also edit it if it feels right.

Look ma, no process.

*A similar version of this post was written on August 20, 2014

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. If you want to find out more about Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge visit their blog, Facebook, Twitter. You can find more posts by searching #HAWMC.

Leave a Reply

