I’ve Learned To C.O.P.E.

I have a love/hate relationship with social media. I wouldn’t have most of the friendships I have without it but at the same time I get overwhelmed trying to keep up with everything that I can look at daily. Plus, I use it for business purposes so things can get tricky.

Pat Padley has a formula that has helped me attempt to keep my head above the metaphorical waters of the internets.

Create
Once
Publish
Everywhere

The idea being use all platforms, since each platform appeals to different demographics, etc., but post the same thing, because why do more work than you need.

I don’t always follow this formula, because each of my platforms does serve a purpose so not every post fits every platform but I try to follow this formula when it fits.

Honestly I don’t have a favorite platform, if I do it changes often enough that it’s hard for me to keep track of. However, I do find some platforms easier to use than others depending on the purpose. I do wish it were easier to post across all platforms so “C.O.P.E. ing” would be easier to accomplish.

I find Tw!tter the most accessible in terms of versatility, meaning I can accomplish what I want from whatever device I happen to have on hand at the moment.

I like the idea behind Inst@gram more than I like using it. I find it frustrating that it’s “mobile only” and I try not to be attached to my mobile device (aka phone) 24/7.

I’ve used Faceb00k the longest but I’m far from their biggest fan, especially in terms of their mobile app.

I don’t use any other social media platforms because frankly 3 is enough, unless we’re counting blogging than 4 is more than enough.

I’ve tried to use G00gle+ for things other than the occasional hangout but I just can’t wrap my brain around it.

I like the opportunities social media has given us as a society but I don’t like the algorisms they employ behind the scenes. It makes me suspicious and weary to engage in anything. I like my timelines chronological. I’d like to go back to the idea that everyone has an equal chance of being seen/heard like when social media was beginning.

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. If you want to find out more about Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge visit their blog, Facebook, Twitter. You can find more posts by searching #HAWMC.

Leave a Reply

