The Week In Review

The last few weeks have been rough for me on nearly all fronts. I won’t go into the details because recounting all of it would just be too exhausting. Let’s just say I could relate a whole lot to a recent recording of Adventures in Imperfect Living.

I either haven’t been able to get anything done or I haven’t wanted to. What I have could get done is my part and now I’m waiting on someone else. I’ve been in a hole and by the time I realized it I was already buried to my shoulders.

The one thing I could count on to attempt to get out of this funk has been swimming.

Are you surprised at all?

Although I must confess my enthusiasm for the sport has waned in the past few months, which should give you a clue as to how buried within myself I was.

I began to make a few small changes.

Things I could control, without question.

I got into the pool and followed that black line up and down, and back again.

I took what I could control one step further and tried what I wanted to do, what I thought I could do.

It’s been fun, even if it hasn’t always worked.

I admit that staring at a black line for extended periods of time sounds boring but I’ve found empowerment in it. I always have. These past few weeks have just proven that for me.

I don’t have to think about what I must do. Often I can’t. I’m occupied with my stroke count or looking at the line at the bottom of the pool.

Or I’m not think at all.

It’s easy to get lost in your own rhythm, literally.

It’s as simple or as complicated as you make it.

Just as people wish life would be.

Digging yourself out of a hole doesn’t make for a good week, at least for me it doesn’t, but having something to look forward to makes the days a little easier to work through.

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. If you want to find out more about Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge visit their blog, Facebook, Twitter. You can find more posts by searching #HAWMC.

2 thoughts on “The Week In Review

  1. Pingback: The Manic Mondays Of A Professional Patient | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: Finding Yourself In A Rut | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

