The Manic Mondays Of A Professional Patient

There are a lot of things that can burn me out, especially lately.

One thing about being a professional patient that people tend to focus on is that you spend a lot of time depending on people.

What they don’t tell you, or maybe they just don’t know, is that you spend a lot of time trying to get to depend on people.

Let me explain:

A few weeks ago, I started to notice that I felt like I was walking with a rock in my shoe. Now I don’t have full sensation in either foot so the fact that I could feel something meant something. It’s not unusual to find a small rock in my shoe before feeling it in there first.

I pulled out the orthotic and inspected it and the shoe itself. Nothing. So, I shoved it back in my shoe and went on with life, but I still felt like I was walking with a rock in my shoe.

I called my orthotist for suggestions, and I’ve been playing phone tag ever since.

I don’t want to make the trip into the office if it’s an easy enough fix that I could handle it myself; because there have been times when I’ve made an appointment only to find out that I could get the same result with a phone call (and a trip to H0me Depot).

I don’t want to make the trip into the office if it requires a prescription either. I have a PM&R follow up in a few weeks so it doesn’t make sense to see the orthotist twice, well 3 times if I need something new.

In the meantime, I’ve been wearing my shoes as little as possible to avoid developing a sore of some kind.

However, that’s creating its own set of problems, my other foot is starting to hurt from compensating, for one thing. It’s not as bad as when I’m wearing my shoes but I think it’s only a matter of time.

I can’t just get a new pair of shoes, and I wouldn’t ether given my history with shopping for footwear, because it’s not the shoe that’s the problem (I don’t think).

It’s either the man made orthotic or my God made foot, either of which I can fix, at least not without the help of someone else.

There are times when being a professional patient feels like being part of a group project for a class. You do your part and then pray to God that everyone else does their part, and not mess the whole thing up.

I’ll make the phone calls and send the emails until I get a result of some sort. It’s just the kind of thing you have to do to make sure things get done.

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. If you want to find out more about Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge visit their blog, Facebook, Twitter. You can find more posts by searching #HAWMC.

One thought on “The Manic Mondays Of A Professional Patient

  1. “There are times when being a professional patient feels like being part of a group project for a class. You do your part and then pray to God that everyone else does their part, and not mess the whole thing up.” Awesome analogy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

