Holidays & Disability

I hate shopping. I don’t see the point of it. I can’t think of anything I’d rather do less than go to the mall, for example. I wasn’t always this way however. I used to look forward to shopping, no matter what occasion.

Now it’s just another pain in my ass.

It’s funny how I cling to online shopping when I used to resist it so much.

There’s a reason why I shop for Christmas gifts throughout the year, and it’s not for the bargains (although that would be a bonus).

I’ve been nearly finished with my shopping for months now. I just have to get a few more gifts and I’m done (hopefully by the time you read this I will be done).

This year came with an unexpected hiccup.

I went online to make my purchase. I tried more than once and asked others to try too (in the event of human error). No success.

I called the store, as in the brick and mortar building.

They told me I couldn’t place an order through their website, any order, at all.

So one wonders why bother having a website in the first place?

I asked if I could order my gift over the phone (which I understand is the most insecure way to place an order).

“Well how would you get your order.”

I could’ve explained to her that I don’t drive so getting to the store isn’t as easy as ordering online. But that’s beside the point I was trying to make by calling the store, not to mention I didn’t want to drop that card unless absolutely necessary, which isn’t, but I did ask myself that at first.

I’ll stick with the reliable family fallback gift giving tradition. It’s not my 1st choice but I have to do it with another gift anyway so what’s one more?

I can hear you asking, What’s the point of this post if she already had a solution in her back pocket?

Not everyone has a backup plan.

The holidays are stressful for everyone without accessibility issues. E-Commerce can easily be seen as a luxury we take for granted but for many it’s a gateway to the world at large, not unlike social media.

Therefore, if you have a website that includes eCommerce of any sort please make sure it works, and if it hasn’t worked for any length of time fix it and let people know that it is up and running again. You may not see any large benefits from online shopping but you’ll get more than if you have nothing at all, and even worse if you have it but it doesn’t work (in my opinion).

Leave a Reply

