The Matter Of Privacy

Disclosure is a common topic for people with disabilities, so much so that I took a shot at giving my point of view on the subject. But there’s another subject that doesn’t get the attention it deserves. So much so that it’s taken me months of looking at a tweet to formulate some sort of thought process.

 

Privacy is an odd thing when you have a disability, practically one like Cerebral Palsy that can have more variations than can fit into a textbook.

People want to talk to you, and ask you all kinds of questions. Questions they wouldn’t think of asking anyone else in the same manner.

People want to see you, in some state of undressed, yet still somehow dressed. But no one would ever expect you to go out in public like that, and if you did there’d be a problem or two, or twelve.

I won’t say privacy goes right out the window, but it does have a drastically different definition, especially if you have any understanding of HIPAA.

Being an advocate means giving up more of that privacy for the sake of others who don’t want to or don’t feel comfortable doing so.

I understand that people don’t like to discuss certain topics. I’m no exception to that statement, but I do discuss most of those certain topics because there are numerous stigmas that need to end, particularly around more personal issues, like health, relationships, sex, romance, healthcare (to name some examples).

It shouldn’t be anyone’s business when I started puberty, again another example, but it’s not something that’s generally discussed in the CP community, unless it’s related to skeletal maturity, but even then, the relation to skeletal maturity is left out of the conversation more than it’s included.

I know people want to know things, they have questions. I know because I had them too, I still have questions in some cases.

Privacy is a weird subject when you have Cerebral Palsy because so much of it is stripped from you at a young age, sometimes you’re so young you have no idea that you have a choice when it comes to what you want to be private and what you’re willing to share.

There’s also the matter of topics just not being discussed, like those I’ve mentioned, because of the stigmas of having a disability. We’re human, and not human at the same time. So, there are topics that you don’t feel like you can talk about, or even research without raising suspicion.

I sacrifice my personal right to privacy in the hopes that it helps others, and that maybe someday, sooner rather than later, no one will have to anymore, myself included.

 

2 thoughts on “The Matter Of Privacy

  1. Pingback: Is This Thing On? | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

