Things That Make You Say Ow

A few weeks ago, I woke up & I knew something was wrong. I laid still for a few seconds trying to gather up the courage to admit the truth.

My neck hurt.

I hurt my neck, to put it more accurately.

I could turn it slightly, but not without pain, so much pain I wondered if I’d throw up.

I thought back to the week before: what had I done?

Nothing came to mind.

I was hoping it would go away as quickly as it showed up.

I wasn’t that lucky, when I discovered the potential culprit of my injury I felt downright ridiculous.

I hurt myself by sitting in a chair.

No, I did not fall out of it, just the simple act of sitting in a chair caused this annoyance.

People think that ergonomic chairs are good for everyone, well that’s not exactly true.

Ergonomic chairs, just like normal chairs, are built for normal bodies.

A person who is 4’11” and has CP isn’t normal.

Therefore, my spine turned into a pretzel, more than usual, and my neck took the most punishment.

The first thing that came to mind was, How quick can I get this fixed, I have practice.

(Further proof that I have made the shift to athlete)

I hate missing practice, because even when it’s not fun something about it is fun & I need more opportunities to practice than people who don’t have CP.

Having an injury is also difficult when you have CP.

Because your muscles don’t necessarily have an “off switch” it’s harder to heal, much like getting a cold, the recovery time just takes longer.

And it sucks.

It’s also a delicate balance between giving yourself time to heal but not staying so still that spasticity begins to run amuck, making any injury harder to heal from as well.

It’s an easy cycle to get into but hard to get out of once you’re in it.

One of the most “fun” parts of being an athlete with Cerebral Palsy.

There you go, it’s possible to hurt yourself in any way possible when you have CP.

Then to add insult to injury, pun somewhat intended, it’s harder to recover from it.

5 thoughts on “Things That Make You Say Ow

  1. Pingback: BYOC | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: Life Without An Off Switch | Most Usually Unusual

  3. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

  4. Pingback: I Pulled My Armpit? | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

