Of Ice & Pies

I admire what the Ice Bucket Challenge has done to bring awareness to ALS. However, I was completely over seeing videos take over my feeds within a matter of minutes.

I’d don’t have objections to “fundraising stunts,” I really don’t. Anyone who has ever been involved in soliciting donations knows anything that can get money (and attention) is good, almost.

I know funds from ALS research are at an all-time high, even after the hype of the Ice Bucket Challenge has long died down. I’m not going to try and tell you that I have a problem with that, because I don’t (you’d have to be a certifiable loon to have a problem with raising money for underfunded research).

However, the whole thing seems so backwards to me.

The object is to NOT want to pour ice water over your head. Therefore, you donate money.

Your F@cebook feed SHOULDN’T have filled up with videos of people dumping ice all over themselves.

Right?

Well apparently not.

There’s also the issue of ALS awareness, as in, what ALS actually is.

It, like CP, is greatly misunderstood.

(What is it about neuro –muscular conditions? It feels like “misunderstanding” is part of the conditions themselves.)

While I’m not the biggest fan of disability simulations on the whole I think any fundraising “stunt” should bring awareness to the actual condition. ALS does not make you cold as ice/ice water. It does however rob a person of any and all muscle usage.

I should also tell you that the (F)JV that’s still alive and well inside me has a real problem with wasting water, especially when areas of the country are experiencing severe drought. It’s probably not as drastic as one of those “cutting off the nose to spite the face” deals, but I think you get where I’m going with this, if not just think about it for a while.

I have watched (and posted) few ice bucket challenge videos (or relevant posts) so I’m not entirely blame free here. So watch Father Kyle Sanders’ video & read Maria Johnson’s post if you want to know what I consider “cream of the crop” of all this mess.

I’ve heard rumblings of wanting to do “ice bucket challenges” for other illnesses/conditions, even now. While it’s tempting to “strike while the iron is hot” there’s also the danger of “fundraising fatigue,” not to mention lacking originality and creativity.

Speaking of striking while the iron is hot, there was another “fundraising stunt” going around the interwebs not long after the ice bucket challenge. I’m not that familiar with it so you’re going to have to cut me some slack if I get some of the details wrong.

It involves CP funding & pie.

As I understand it you’re “tagged” and you have to donate $10 to CP research and hit yourself in the face with a pie within 24 hours, if you don’t you donate $100.

It gets points for originality, thereby partially, avoiding “funding fatigue,” but I can’t say I’m all “gung ho” for this either.

(F)JV me isn’t too happy about the waiting of food thing. People in the world are starving, and you’re throwing food in your face? Not too cool.

I also come from a family who holds pie in the highest regard. My grandmother made apple pie that’s the stuff of legends, literally. She died when I was a toddler so I never got a chance to taste it for myself, or if I did I don’t remember it. I’m sure Grandma wouldn’t be too crazy about her favorite grandchild participating in any event that involves pie, unless you’re going to eat it.

Although I have to confess, I wouldn’t mind if my social media feeds had a few “pie in the face videos,” if for no other reason than to be proven wrong.

As much as I hate seeing pie be wasted, I would love to see people trying to bring awareness and funds to CP; because as much as I don’t want to cure CP I can’t deny that treatments and assistance for those who need it just isn’t there (speaking from experience).

I  saw less than 5 pie videos appear on my feeds (I saw more than that, but indirectly, not through original posts or shares). I won’t lie; I wish CP would become the “next big thing” to support, even if it’s just for the day, because sometimes life gets lonely when people aren’t giving you the time of day (especially if you’re an adult).

Throwing a pie in your face doesn’t tell you anything about what it’s like to live with CP either. If you want to know what it’s like to have CP ask someone who has CP, while every case of CP is unique to the individual, you’ll get an idea.

So what’s the point of all of this seemingly senseless rambling?

Save your pie for dessert & your ice water and buckets for summertime fun, putting out actual fires, or gardening.

Get out the checkbook (or debit card) and give your money, or better yet your companionship

*A similar version of this post was written on September 19 & 24, 2014

One thought on “Of Ice & Pies

  1. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

