Brain Matter(s)

I remember my 1st meeting with my physiatrist. I didn’t want to be there. I had already seen a physiatrist I liked. I was only there because she wanted me to consider having him take me as a patient instead, but he was on time (not doctor time, actual people time) and he seemed to wanted to be interested in all of me, not just parts.

After his “litany of questions” (which is really what he called it) he said something that caught me off guard.

“Now if I were to look at a CT scan of your brain I guess I would probably see……”

I never put much thought into what Cerebral Palsy had done to my brain, mainly because the focus had always been on my muscles & bones, I wasn’t diagnosed with a learning disability until my early 20s & even then I didn’t think it was CP related, learning disabilities are in my family so I saw it as something that made me more “alike” than different.”

Admitting that this postulating what my brain looked like was what sealed the deal in agreeing to be under his care would be a lie, but it did play a part in my decision.

I haven’t had many CT scans in my life, and only one of my head, but they were looking at my sinuses, not my brain. Intrigued I asked if he would be ordering a CT scan of my brain, adding that I wanted to see it for myself.

No

Why?

Well OK then.

For the record, I still want to see what my brain actually looks like.

It’s hard to understand a condition that you can’t always see the root cause of, never mind try explaining it to anyone else, no matter how educated you are on the subject.

People like to be able to see things, to touch them, hear them, anything tactile really.

Cerebral Palsy isn’t like that, instead it’s like trying to find the leak in a pipe. You have a puddle on the floor from the water dripping from the ceiling but you don’t really know where the water is coming from, except with CP you may never be able to actually see the true source of the leak.

One thought on “Brain Matter(s)

  1. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

