An Ode To Sweet Caroline

Almost a year ago I (finally) met my new comrade, named Caroline.

Caroline

Yes, my wheelchair has a name.

You honestly didn’t think I’d let a CP Awareness month go by without a post about wheelchairs, did you?

I came across a vlog recently that sums up some of how I feel about wheelchairs, and the choice to use them.

I don’t know why people have such strong feelings, that they feel need sharing, about something that should be a personal decision. For me, a wheelchair isn’t a hindrance. Instead its independence.  Part of the reason why I gave my chair a name is to make it (or should I say her?) more approachable. A wheelchair isn’t a symbol of loss, it’s a symbol of modification.

One thought on “An Ode To Sweet Caroline

  1. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

