Is Disability A Choice Or A Destiny?

Would you believe that sometimes I forget I have Cerebral Palsy, and that’s one of biggest things that makes me different from most people?

So sometimes it catches me off guard when someone makes a comment about it, not unlike this one:

 

Here’s the thing most people don’t get: from a disabled person’s point of view there isn’t another option, especially if their disability doesn’t come with a before & after, like Cerebral Palsy.

It’s only when we’re presented with a different point of view that you realize you’re different.

That there’s a chance you may not be able to do the same things in the same way as everyone else.

But that doesn’t really occur to you until someone points it out, and that your way is seemingly more difficult than the “normal way.”

You can think about it every time someone brings it to your attention but it’s easy to get dragged down that way, so if you’re me you try and avoid situations in which people might bring it up.

There’s also something to be said about making the conscious decision to not give yourself the option to do something, like letting your disability stop you from doing something, or anything.

It’s almost like when someone thanks you for responding favorably in a crisis. Sometimes there is no other option, at least not one that would end well for you (and probably other people too). Think of a first responder receiving an award and their response is, “I was just doing my job.”

Not “letting a disability stop you” when you have a disability is “part of the job.”

Because the only other option would be to stay in bed forever or kill yourself, and neither of those sounds more appealing to me.

Speaking for myself there are times when I do let the fact that I have Cerebral Palsy stop me from doing something I want to do (although I wish I had the choice with some “need to dos, if we’re being honest). But on the whole I don’t let it stop me.

I don’t let it stop me, because I don’t know any different, unless someone points it out.

I don’t let it stop me because there isn’t another choice.

2 thoughts on “Is Disability A Choice Or A Destiny?

  1. Pingback: Acknowledging Your Personal Puzzle | Most Usually Unusual

  2. Pingback: Cerebral Palsy: The Review | Most Usually Unusual

Leave a Reply

